r-pod Nation Homepage R-Pod Travel Trailers At Jeff Couchs RV Nation
Forum Home Forum Home > Forest River r-pod > Miscellaneous / Off-topic
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

120VAC 15/20 amp plug

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jmalys Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 120VAC 15/20 amp plug
    Posted: 11 Oct 2010 at 4:18pm
So, new to RVing.  Picking up my 172 on Wed. 

My question is, can I run my A/C and Microwave while pluged into the side of my house's 120VAC 15/20 amp receptical?  If not, what can I run with it?  The entertainment center, will doing that charge the battery?  

Also, would you reccomend buying a 15/20 amp to 30 amp converter plug so I can plug my Yamaha 2400is-hc inverter generator in with the supplied 30 amp cable (the yamaha generator has normal 20 amp house hold plugs). 
Thanks, I realize these are probably amature questions, but like I said I am new to the whole RVing experience and I could not find the answers via a search. 
HuronSailor View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HuronSailor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Oct 2010 at 5:04pm
Congrats on the new pod, and thank you for your military service.

You won't be able to run both AC and micro at the same time, but either one individually should run OK. Provided the electric water heater is off. If the WH is on, probably adding either the AC or Micro will trip you out (man.)

Someone else with more generator experience will come along soon to answer those questions.
.: Mark & Beth :: Silverado 5.3L :: "arrrr"Pod 172 :: My Albums :: OurPod Blog ::
Kenn View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kenn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Oct 2010 at 6:10pm