r-pod Nation Homepage R-Pod Travel Trailers At Jeff Couchs RV Nation
Forum Home Forum Home > Forest River r-pod > Maintenance Issues, Tips and Tricks
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Hot plate details

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oliver Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hot plate details
    Posted: 21 Oct 2021 at 8:26pm
Does anybody know if 1500 watts is too much for a hot plate for my 30 amp Rpod? I'm using an 1100 watt one now with no problem, but somebody said keep it below 1500. I'm looking at a Cadco because it's USA made.
Kingskerswell View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kingskerswell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Oct 2021 at 12:45pm
First of all I want to point out that I am not an electrical engineer, but I would refer you to an article (attached) that may help.  Although it does not specifically cover a 30A circuit, I am sure you can extrapolate from there.  It refers to the National Electrical Code (NEC) for a 15A breaker is 80% or 1440 Watts

Also you have to keep in mind what other electrical devices you may have running in the background., ie electrical water heater.  Add to this the fact that many campsite electrical power outlets are notoriously poorly maintained and that your trailer connections may be corroded, worn/sloppy fit.  

I know from personal experience (appliance fire due to low voltage supply) resulted in a some basic checks that I do when camping….continually monitor voltage supply/connections together with a simple heat check at the trailer piug-ins.  

I am sure there are many readers who will be better qualified to answer your question but this might be a good start.uploads/5689/Max_Wattage-15A_Breaker_.pdf

Oliver View Drop Down