r-pod Nation Homepage R-Pod Travel Trailers At Jeff Couchs RV Nation
Forum Home Forum Home > Forest River r-pod > r-pod wish list, what we love, what we would love to see
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

R-Pod Experience

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote R & C Pitt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: R-Pod Experience
    Posted: 01 Nov 2009 at 3:50pm
Hello R-Pod Nation,

I'm a newbie to the forum and I thank you for allowing me to be a part. My wife and I have a very nice 2008 Jayco pop-up camper, have not been considering a change but last week, while on vacation and passing through Middlesboro, KY we noticed an R-pod at an RV dealer and was very intrigued. We like the Jayco very much but the set-up and tear-down are becoming more of an issue as we're approaching retirement age. The Jayco tows very well behind our 2000 Ford Expedition.

The RP-175 seems to be the one that would best fit our needs.

If I understand correctly, the R-Pods have been in production since late 2008, so some of you on the forum have now used them for one season. I'm interested what your experience has been with the R-Pods. Do they have much affect on gas mileage of the tow vehicle? Is a weight distributing hitch needed? Is the lack of a sink in the bathroom an issue? Since there's not much window area (compared to a pop-up), do they seem confining? Do all of the windows open? Do the air conditioner and furnace have adequate output? How difficult is the R-dome awning to set-up? How about quality issues?

I'm interested in your total experience with the R-Pod as I wouldn't want to make a change without fully exploring the ins and outs of the R-Pod. Thanks for any information you're willing to share.
R & C Pitt
Troy, OH
2000 Ford Expedition
2008 Jayco Pop-Up
yizit View Drop Down